Conversion

How I Became a Christian – Pt. 3: Falling in Love

So at this point I’m a Christian and I have no clue as to what that means.  And when I say, “no clue,” I mean I really didn’t have any idea what Christians did.  I did know that I should be doing something different, but what that something was I had no idea.  As I still held many of my prior secular beliefs, I certainly wasn’t going to go to church, so that was definitely out.  It took a little mind searching but I finally hit on something I knew Christians did: they read the Bible.  That I could do.  One day while I was reading I came upon the following passage:

 “Come to me, all you that are weary and are carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”   Matthew 11:28-30

It was this passage that led me to fall head over heels in love with Lord Jesus.  To this day, I have no idea why it had such a dramatic impact on me.  You would think with all that Lord Jesus had done for me I would have already been in love with Him, but it wasn’t so.  Up until that point it was God the Father who had been drawing me closer to Him.  It was He that I loved.  While I had gained a greater appreciation for Lord Jesus through those readings I had mentioned in earlier posts and what He had done for me, I did not love Him.  Not until I read that passage.  Then I fell in love.

May we all experience the love of God.  God bless!

The image is from a larger work by Fra Angelico at San Marco.  If you ever get the chance I recommend taking a look at his work.  The actual faces are not all that attractive, but when I checked out a book on his work it was so exquisite it took my breath away.

Leave a Reply

