Conversion

Rust, Moths, and . . . God Wants Me To Become A Nun?

gate-to-nowhere
This photograph captures beautifully where storing up earthly treasures leads: nowhere.

It was a very interesting way God used to get me into the Catholic Church.  Three things seemed to hit simultaneously or at least close enough together in time to make it seems as if they were simultaneous.  The funny thing is two of them seemed so innocuous that at any other time I don’t believe they would have made an impression on me at all.  But in God’s hands they redirected my life.

So I was going along pretty good reading my Bible.  I would like to say that I wasn’t simply reading a few passages or chapters, and then going about my business.  I actually spent most of my available time thinking about what I had read, so I could gain a better understanding or some understanding for that matter.   It was during this time that my dad was getting rid of some old iron patio furniture.

The Rust

It was pretty dilapidated.  The paint had come off in spots and rust was showing through in others.  This worked out great for me because I had figured out that occupying my hands freed up my mind to think.  So it was a good project to that end.  An added bonus was that I needed some patio furniture, so I decided to take it on as a project.

The Moths

At the same time a moth infestation broke out in my house.  I had a couple of Cockatiels and I guess some moths had gotten into the bird seed I had purchased.  Pretty soon I had little moths flying all over the place.  So there I am, dealing with rust on the one hand and a moth infestation on the other when I read this passage:

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust consume and where thieves break in and steal; but store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust consumes and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19-21

Except when I read it I comprehended it as a question, “Why do you store up for yourself treasures on earth, where moth and rust consume . . . ?”  My answer was, “I don’t know.”  Obviously, something more was called for, so I took a couple of actions.

Spiritual Treasures

Somehow I translated all of this into doing volunteer work.  The problem was there was no volunteer work for me to do.  Two things happened when I inquired to charities, either the places I called told me outright that they didn’t need help or I garbled my words so bad that I was rejected.  I can remember the calls I made where I literally could not form words.  They probably thought I was drunk.  It’s no wonder they told me they didn’t need any help.  The upshot was that I could not find any place to volunteer, so I ended up going to church.

While I wasn’t raised as Christian, at some point–between when I left home and this period in my life–my dad had either become a Christian or returned to Christianity.  I really don’t know which (We never talked about it).  When I went over to visit he would always tell me go to church.  As a non-Christian that wasn’t going to happen, but things had changed, so I decided to give it a try.  That’s how I ended up in a pew at a First Assembly of God Church.  Now, by nature I’m pretty reserved, so to say that this church wasn’t for me would be a gross understatement.  I think I attended services two or three times, then stopped going.  This would have been the end of my church going altogether, except I became convicted that God wanted me to become a nun.

The Call to Become a Nun

Now, if you thought I was ignorant about Christianity, then you can imagine my ignorance when it came to nuns.  What I did know is I had a minor child and I wasn’t Catholic. What I didn’t know was the chances of someone twice divorced with a child becoming a nun were nil.  I also didn’t know that some nuns weren’t Catholic.  If I had known those things, then I don’t know what Lord Jesus would have done.  I’m certain He would know what to do, but I can’t imagine how He would have handled it.  Now, I could fix not being Catholic, but I wasn’t going to abandon my child; nor did I think God wanted me to.  However, I figured that God knew that I had a child and He had something worked out, so I’d go ahead and become a Catholic.   And that’s how Lord Jesus ended up leading me into the Catholic Church and for that I am extremely grateful.

May we all experience the love of God!  God bless!

The exceptional photo was very generously made available to the public by Stanley Zimney under the Creative Commons Attribution-Non-Commercial 2.0 License.

Leave a Reply

