Totally Off Topic

My Coffee Maker Died

Six o’clock in the morning is a horrible time to discover your coffee maker no longer makes coffee.  If you’re like me, you can’t quite process information well until after your first cup of coffee.  So when the coffee maker died it didn’t quite compute.  I ended up standing at the counter for 5 or 10 min. staring at the coffee maker, pushing the button over and over again waiting for it to start producing coffee.  It didn’t.  What was I going to do?

My first desperate thought was to grab up my coffee and start knocking on neighbor’s doors and beg to use their coffee maker.  “If I could just impose on your generosity for 5 or 10 minutes, while I make some coffee?  You can go back to bed (Did I mention this happened on a Sunday morning?).  I’ll let myself out and lock up when I leave. No worries.”  Even with my brain not hitting on all cylinders I figured that wasn’t the best way to treat my neighbors.

I ended up turning to the internet.  People have been drinking coffee a lot longer than there have been coffee makers.  There had to be a way to make it without one.  I was right.  You can actually make coffee simply by adding it to boiling water.   You know what?  It was better.  The taste was richer, plus the aroma of coffee filled the entire apartment.  The place smelled so good, even my 8 yr. old granddaughter commented on it.

I’ve only been drinking coffee for a couple of years.  (So this is the coffee maker death I’ve experienced.) I’ve always had coffee from a drip coffee maker, so I hadn’t realized that I was giving up taste and smell for speed.  I’m tossing that old coffee maker right into the garbage and I’ve decided to replace it with a stove top percolator.  It sounds like it will give me both that richer flavor and aroma.  It may take a little longer to brew, but I think it will be worth the wait.  I’m really glad my coffee maker died.

Image courtesy of Worthy of Elegance @Unsplash

Leave a Reply

