This Week on the Blog

This Week: 2/6 to2/12

On the Blog:

I should rename this post the “This and That Week” because I seem to write more about the previous week, then I do the upcoming one.  So what did I post last week?

When, please, were ‘adulterers’ actually ‘Excommunicated’?

If you’re Catholic, then you already know there quite a bit of to do regarding the encyclical Amoris laetitia.  In defense of the encyclical some people have argued, like so many argue today, that the reason the section under dispute is desperately needed is  because the Catholic Church was mean to adulterers in the past when they excommunicated them. I ‘pressed’ this post from the blog In the Light of the Law: A Canon Lawyers Blog maintained by Edward Peters, JD, JCD, Ref. Sig. Ap. to represent a learned opinion on the subject and one that countered the excommunication argument.

Regardless of my opinions on Amoris laetitia his posts are not only informative, but entertaining and I recommend his blog wholeheartedly.

In Defense (kinda sorta) of Pope Francis for his Recent Homily on Cowardice

Unfortunately, the left does not have a corner on bias, the right can be just as biased.  Nowhere does this seem to show up more than against Pope Francis.  Myself, I can’t make up my mind about the Pope.  Half the time I read a report about one of his homilies and I have no idea of what he’s talking about.  I don’t know if that’s an interpreter problem,  whether the Pope himself simply doesn’t express himself well, or it’s simply me.  Whatever the case may be and however much you may not like him, I do believe that you shouldn’t put the worst possible light on everything he has to say.

So I wrote a post in response to another blogger because I actually felt I understood what the Pope was expressing in this instance and I didn’t feel the blogger was giving the Pope a fair shake.  And since I was on the subject of the Pope I went ahead and added my two cents to the discussion on Amoris laetitia.

This upcoming week should be a seven quick take posts on God, Politics, and Mom.  In addition, The Iraqi Christian Relief Council is petitioning fellow Christians around the world to join with their Assyrian Christian brothers and sisters in prayer and fasting “in order to promote solidarity with the persecuted church in the Middle East, beg the Lord for his mercy, and to usher in peace in war-torn Iraq and Syria. This actually starts tomorrow.  I’ll have a post up shortly.  In the meantime, if you want to find out more about it go here.

Twitter and Facebook: #QuoteoftheDay Posts

If you don’t follow me on Twitter or Facebook, then consider this a weekly roundup.  Just click on the image with the quote to read the full article.

Monday

Quote

From “Who do you say that I am?” By Janice Lane Palko, (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Anette Grolle @Unsplash

Tuesday

Quote

By Dickens in “Cold Comfort” by Ephrem Maria Reese, O.P., (Click on image above to view the post) Image by James Studarus @Unsplash

Wednesday

Quote

From “{SQT} A Treatment Has Arrived”, (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Roberta Sorge @Unsplash

This is the site where I learned about the seven quick takes posts.  She write about a treatment for her son’s disease.  I’m just helping spread the word.

Thursday

Quote

From “Catholic Culture Works”, (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Annie Spratt @Unsplash

They sure knew how to build churches back in the day.  I don’t even know if that quality of craftsmanship even exists today.

Friday

Quote

From “And Then There Were None . . . How we Help“, (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Redd Angelo @Unsplash

The above quote is from the About page of a website for a non-profit made up of former abortion clinic workers that use their experience and support to help other abortion clinic workers get out of the business and to help them heal.  It’s worth a look.

Saturday

Quote

Gloria Purvis in “Living Spiritual Works of Mercy can Transform People’s Hearts and Lives” by Richard Szczepanowski, (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Martino Pietropoli @Unsplash

A nice article about the spiritual works of mercy that also includes practical advice for carrying them out.

Sunday

Quote

From “You are the Saltof the Earth: Reflection for the Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time” by Marcellino D’Ambrosio, Ph. D., (Click on image above to view the post) Image by Daiga Ellaby @Unsplash

This quote made me laugh.

Leave a Reply

