Christian Life

{7QT} Marches, Jewish and Christian Bible Study, and Cross-Stitch

One – Brilliant Media Strategy

I don’t know who came up with the idea to have the Vice-President speak at the 2017 March for Life, but it was a absolutely brilliant political and media-savvy move.  As President Trump duly noted in an interview with ABC News prior to the March; the left-leaning media simply do not cover the annual March for Life.  That all changed when the Vice-President agreed to speak at the March: while the media won’t show up for a pro-life march they do show up for a Vice-Presidential appearance.  Absolutely brilliant.  Thank you Vice-President Pence and the person who came up with the idea.

Two – Speaking of marches

I was listening to the podcast Rational Security the other day.  It was an episode that was recorded prior to the recent Women’s March in Washington.  One of the female co-hosts was asked what the upcoming March was for.  She replied that she didn’t believe there was a point to it, but she was going to attend anyway to show her solidarity, even though she wasn’t able to articulate any particular issue or concern which she would be in solidarity with.  I was pretty surprised that someone, or a whole bunch of someones (women attending the march), would waste their time with pointless marching and decided that humans had reached a whole new level of silliness.  And then, I ran across this Biblical passage which relates an event that happened over 2,000 years ago:

Meanwhile, some were shouting one thing, some another; for the assembly was in confusion, and most of them did not know why they had come together. Acts 19:32

Three – Urrrgggghhhh!

The video at the end of this story over at LifeSite.New made me so angry I had to include it: Nancy Pelosi Tells Adopted Woman: Your Mom Should Have Had the “Choice” to Abort You.  The part that made me mad was the video at the end.  If I could have found the source video I would have given it its own post, but I can’t so I provided the link to the article instead.  The video is at the end.

So what’s the big deal?  A young woman who had been adopted, instead of being aborted, tries to point out, in so many words, to California Congresswoman Pelosi that she’s a human being and, that being the case, adoption is the ethical way to go.  And Congresswoman Pelosi’s response?  Pelosi defended the mother’s right to choose even though that would have meant this young woman would never had a chance to live.  If you could see the look on that young woman’s face as she tried to comprehend that Congresswoman Pelosi could not care less about whether that young woman lived or died.  I felt so bad for that young woman.  It just wrenched my heart.

Four – Mom gives up

Speaking of fortitude my mother has been cross-stitching birth announcements for all her great-grandchildren since the first one was born about 9 years ago.  And we’re not talking a couple of babies; we’re talking about a lot of babies being born within months of each other.  That had slowed down for awhile and mom was actually getting caught up, then the next wave was recently announced and she just up and quit.  Says she’s not doing it anymore.  I don’t blame her.  It was a lot of babies and she’s been doing this a long, long time.  While she did eventually give up her fortitude at lasting this long is pretty amazing.

Five – Helpmate or helper like himself?

I read my Bible daily.  This is not a Bible study, but simply reading a portion each day.  It was time to start over again and I had heard that the Dhouay-Rheims Bible was more of a literal translation, so that’s the Bible I decided to read this time around.  I’m already pleased with my decision as it has given me new perspectives.  Take Genesis 2:20, for example.  First, let me give you the passage from the King James Version (my personal favorite translation) and the NRSV:

And Adam gave names to all cattle, and to the fowl of the air, and to every beast of the field; but for Adam there was not found an help meet for him. KJV Genesis 2:20

The man gave names to all cattle, and to the birds of the air, and to every animal of the field; but for the man there was not found a helper as his partner. NRSV Genesis 2:20

I think it fair to say that translations appear to say that woman was created to be a help to man.  I see no problem with understanding it this way.

But now let’s look at that same passage translated in the Dhouay-Rheims Bible:

And Adam called all the beasts by their names, and all the fowls of the air, and all the cattle of the field: but for Adam there was not found a helper like himself. D-R Genesis 2:20

This is an interesting translation because not only can we infer that the woman was a partner (as in the other translations), but depending on how you read it, it could also infer that Adam, himself, was a helper.  My first question: who was he supposed to help?  There is only one other person(s) in existence at that time adam was created and it was God.  My next question: help God with what? To that I can’t say.  One could say that the Garden of Eden is a figure of the soul and in God making man a helper could imply that man is also has responsibility for his own salvation.

It also could be taken to mean the trees were different trees of knowledge.    This makes a lot of sense also because the one tree that was denied to them was the tree of “Knowledge” of Good and Evil, so it would not be too far off to say that the other trees represented some type of knowledge, too.  To expand on this view “Eden” is the Hebrew word used to name the garden, but its actual meaning is pleasure, delicate, or delight.  (The D-R actually uses the meaning rather than the Hebrew words and refers to the Garden of Eden as the paradise of pleasure.)  I can personally say that learning, especially about the wonders of creation and God’s work in the history of humankind, both individually and collectively, is a true delight and a pleasure.  This idea is also confirmed by Eve’s use the adjectives; “good,” “pleasant,” and “desirable,” in describing the Tree of Knowledge of Good and  Evil.  The argument is entirely plausible.

But I’m not here to present an argument for this, but simply to show why I’m glad I decided to try a different translation of the Bible this time around.  It’s given me quite a bit to think about.

Six – Have you heard about Logos and Verbum Bible Study Software?

This is not a sales pitch.  I have no affiliation whatsoever with either Logos of Verbum.  That being said I just wanted to let you know, if you haven’t heard of it, that I use Logos Bible Software for my Bible Study.  I purchased the base package years ago and it has been a real help and I bet I don’t even use 95% of its features.  I’m not going to go into those features here, but to give you an idea of what you get, the version I purchased included 23 different Bible translations.  It gets even more sophisticated than that.  They offer a number of different packages with the largest package with over 4,000 books.  In my mind, that’s a little much, but for scholars that might just be a starting point for all I know.  If you are in the market for Bible software, then know I have been very happy with Logos (Verbum is the Catholic version of Logos sold by the same company).

Seven – Elmad by Pardes

One of things I used to wonder about was what Bibical teaching did Christ receive as a child or, to put it in other words, what was Jewish thinking like at that time?   In order to gain a little insight I started listening to Pardes from Jerusalem: weekly Parsha podcast.  In this podcast the rabbis/professors discuss a different portion of the Hebrew Scriptures.  I especially enjoy this podcast because they bring up so many little things in the text, like a play on words, that would blow right past me.  They have now come up with something new: the Parsha Discussion.  The Parsha Discussion is meant to build on the weekly Parsha by providing information and questions to consider and discuss over dinner on the Sabbath (Shabat).  I thought this was a lovely idea.  As Catholics we also know ahead of time our Sunday readings.  This might be a nice tradition to start around the supper tables on Sundays.

The Parsha Discussion for each week can be viewed here, if you are curious as to how they are using it.

The lovely photo was provided by Rob Bye @Unsplash.

Leave a Reply

