Jounaling my Ministry Startup

So I Guess I’m Starting a Magazine

""

February 21, 2017

Strange thing happened recently.  I guess God wants me to start a magazine.  That’s weird because I don’t remember the context in which this occurred.  I can’t remember if I was thinking, “Man, I sure would like to start a business,” or something along those lines and God suggested a magazine or what.  It could be that the idea of me starting a magazine was so bizarre in my mind that it knocked out everything that came before it.  That happened to me once before when I was studying Thomas Aquinas.  I was listening to something and I was able to apply Aquinas to what I was listening to.  I was so shocked I actually forgot how I applied it and to what.

And I was shocked about God suggesting I start a magazine.  It’s nothing I ever considered and I know nothing about the industry. I can’t even get a blog post out each week. So I couldn’t imagine why God would choose this type of ministry for me.  Then God pointed out to me that I would love to sit around and write about God all day.  The choice made much more sense then.  So I guess I’m going to start a magazine.  I’m kinda looking forward to it.

“And in this matter I am giving my advice: it is appropriate for you who began last year not only to do something but even to desire to do something— now finish doing it, so that your eagerness may be matched by completing it according to your means. For if the eagerness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has—not according to what one does not have.” 2 Cor 8:10-12

A quote from my reading for today.  That last line really got to me.  Don’t focus on what I can’t do, but what I can do.  Great advice and very timely.

Since this is a new experience for me I decided to journal it.  I also decided to post my journal entries online because I know that there are others besides myself who would like to start a ministry, but their doubts about their abilities hold them back or they don’t know where to start.  I think part of the problem is people that start businesses only show up on our radar once they’ve made it big.  Then all we see is this successful person.  What we don’t see is the hard work, the mistakes, and all they had to learn to get where they are.  Hopefully, by journaling my experiences others will see that you don’t have to be all that to start a ministry, especially if God is asking you to do it.  Besides, misery does love company (not that I think this will be a miserable experience) and sometimes it does good to know that there are others like you who are just fumbling along.

God bless!""

 

 

2 thoughts on “So I Guess I’m Starting a Magazine

    1. HI Jan, I thought I was replying to you, but I just added a comment on my post. It’s going to be about God. I just started figuring out the guts of it and that will be an upcoming journal entry.

      Like

Leave a Reply

