Totally Off Topic

My Reads for An Open Book: June 2017

""MyScribbler’s Heart and Catholicmom.com are hosting Open Book: June 2017 where you share what you’re reading for June.  One would think a blog all about words would include more posts about what I’m reading, but those type of posts have been few and far between.  So I’m taking advantage of this opportunity to make up for that lapse.

The Encyclical Providentissmus Deus on the study of Holy Scripture by Pope Leo XIII

I’ve been sticking to my resolution to read all of the Church encyclicals.  It’s been a great experience.  Reading them has both opened my eyes and left me in the dark.  They’re enlightening both for what they teach and how they show the problems the Church ahs faced at the different periods in history.   For example, Providentissmus Deus, my current read, was written by Pope Leo XIII against the Rationalists who “are in possession of numerous schools, taken by violence from the Church, in which, by ridicule and scurrilous jesting, they pervert the credulous and unformed minds of the young to the contempt of Holy Scripture (10).”  That was something I never knew before, but who are the Rationalists and how did they “violently” take schools “from the Church”?  As to that, I’m left in the dark.

The Pope goes on to say how the study of Scripture should be taught in colleges and who should teach them, but it leaves one asking, “Are they doing this somewhere?” Where would I have to go to be taught in this manner?  Once again both light and darkness.  If anyone can suggest a good book regarding this period in Church history I would be grateful.

Next on the list by Pope Leo XIII are Immortale Dei on the Christian Constitution of States and Superiore Anno on the Recitation of the Rosary.  Perhaps others, depending on the amount of time I have.

True Devotion to Mary: With Preparation for Total Consecration by St. Louis de Montfort and translated by Rev. Faber

I’ve heard so much lately about this devotion because of the 100th anniversary of the Fatima apparition I finally decided to read it.  I’m having a harder time with it then I thought I would.  Before anyone gets offended my problem is not with the Blessed Virgin Mary.  There’s nothing good you could say about her that I would disagree with.  The problem is the way I’m built.  It’s the same reason I have a problem with the communion of saints.  Not with the reasoning behind the communion of the saints, but simply going to them rather than directly to God.  As long as I can remember I’ve gone directly to the source when I needed something.  No intermediaries, just straight to the source.  I do understand the Son is the intermediary to the Father, but He is also God.  It just makes no sense to me to have an intermediary to the intermediary.

Anyway, after going back and forth while reading the book I’ve finally decided to let the Holy Spirit lead me in this.  Whenever, I’ve had a problem with any teaching of the Catholic Church the Holy Spirit has always showed me why the Church was right.  I have no doubt the Holy Spirit will do the same this time.

Subverted: How I Helped the Sexual Revolution Hijack the Women’s Movement by Sue Ellen Browder

This is the next book on my list to read.  I’ve been dying to read it every since I first heard the author interviewed on an episode of Women of Grace.  If anyone had asked me the sex of person behind the sexual revolution I would have bet everything I owned on it being a male.  A reprobate male, but still a male.   Seriously, sex without ties and on demand, no commitments, and no babies; it would be a reprobate’s dream.  But according to the author it was a woman, Helen Gurley Brown, who was pushing this.  I still have a hard time fathoming that, so I want to read the book to find out if there was a man behind the woman.

Another thing I’ve always wondered about was why the sexual revolution took hold.  It seems odd to me that someone came up with the idea and everybody decided to jump on board.  Well, apparently, they didn’t.  The idea had to be sold.

Which brings me to the next reason I want to read it: how did they manage to sell it?


Yes, I do read fiction, but I just finished Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb and haven’t chosen my next read yet.  I started reading The Quest by Nelson DeMille, but can’t get into it.  That’s unfortunate because he’s one of my favorite authors.  He’s the only author whose writing has the ability to transport me to another place.  Apparently, The Quest was the first book he ever wrote.  He’s, obviously, developed his craft over the years. So no nonfiction until I run across something that will hold my interest.

2 thoughts on “My Reads for An Open Book: June 2017

  1. Thanks for linking up! The book on the sexual revolution sounds very interesting. I’m vaguely familiar with Helen Gurley Brown in that she founded Cosmopolitan magazine. I’ve read True Devotion to Mary, but I don’t think I love it as much as everyone else seems to, for whatever reason. It’s always fascinating to me to see everyone’s varied interests!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for providing the link up. It game me the impetus to share. It’s great fun to see what other people are reading. Helps with finding good reads. Have a great day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

